The Pot and the Kettle

27 Sep

In several previous posts, I’ve made passing reference to the idea that every generation doubts or outright disparages the “work ethic” of the one following it into the workforce. Conducting some preliminary research for my next project on the concept of “productivity”, I came across some hard evidence for my claim. It’s not earth shattering, but I’m smugly satisfied about finding it.

Behold, the following quotation from 1979 (when my “boomer” parents were my “millennial” age):

‘it is demonstrably evident that young workers, brought up to believe that the good life is theirs by right rather than something to be earned, do not share the same workethic as their elders’

The quote is from a “pro-business” syndicated columnist named Smith Hempstone, and I found it here in the article by Goldman and Van Houten.

Leave a Reply

